Massively Casual Tanking

Tales of a casual Death Knight in World of Warcraft

Star Trek Online: First impressions

leave a comment »

This game has been around for some time, and has seen some changes over time.

I finally decided to give it a try, mostly because of a stone wall I recently hit.

At first glance, the game looks very casual. Jump ship, fly around space, shoot things with a laser. Pretty straight forward, or so it seems.

I hit rank 7 yesterday, and much to my surprise, I haven’t logged WOW the last couple of days. Star Trek Online is surprisingly addictive. And trust me when I say it’s more than just flying around in a spaceship, even though that is the cool part.

One thing that struck me pretty fast (and hard).
You are expected to do your own searching. No big X marks the spot for you. For a lot of missions (quests) reading the actually mission-text is a must. And that is when you realize World of Warcraft breeds lazy MMO players.

I admit, at first, I was very annoyed by this.
You mean I actually have to read all this text. What? A trade summit? Talk to who? What? Where? Why?

Yeah, World of Warcraft made me a lazy bum.

Like I said, I’ve only just begun my adventures in STO, but rest assured, I’m sure there are many more tales to come.

 

Written by Beetle

March 14, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Posted in Other MMO

Leave a Reply

