Massively Casual Tanking

Tales of a casual Death Knight in World of Warcraft

The other side: Queing as Death Knight frost DPS

leave a comment »

Hadn’t done that in a long time. But because I’m now at the 350 ilvl mark, and I don’t need  any more tank gear from heroics, I thought it would be fun to see the DPS side of things. So off to queing as a DPS it was.

And yeah, queing as DPS sucks. 32 minute wait time … auch … 

First dungeon was heroic Lost City.
I love doing this one as a tank, so I figured it would be fun as DPS as well. And it was. We burned through the instance, and to my surprise, I came out on top of the damage meters. My DPS is gear is a mix of 333 and 346 gear (reputation rewards).

Second dungeon was heroic HoO.
Again, I love this instance as a tank. Did this one with my brother and mage friend. It was a real DPS race, which was very fun indeed. 

What did this teach me?
Frost DW DPS really is easy. The rotation is fast and furious, making you a plate wearing rogue. 

Also, it affirmed my belief that DPS in general, if played correct, is easymode. Yes, you have to NOT tunnelvison. As a DPS this is your worst enemy. There is nothing worse than focussing solely on the healthbar of the mob you are burning.

I hadn’t played Frost DPS in a long long time. So I equipped what gear I had sitting in my bank, gemmed it, and went over to a target dummy to get my rotation right. Did this for a good 5 minutes, and queued for a dungeon.

In both runs, the healer only had to heal me on minor occasions, usually because he/she had aggro and the tank didn’t taunt, making me go nuclear on the mob in question and burning it. Frost DPS self-healing is imba, so pretty self sufficient.

Next time anyone says DPS is harder, tell them to roll a tank character.

Written by Beetle

April 13, 2011 at 8:44 am

Posted in Ramblings

Leave a Reply

