Massively Casual Tanking

Tales of a casual Death Knight in World of Warcraft

Warrior tanking VS Death Knight tanking

with 2 comments

My little Protection Warrior alt is now at level 51. And I’m falling in love with it. Warrior tanking is so different than DK tanking. Plus tanking with a shield is just way cooler.

No, it’s also the mechanics you have as a Warrior that makes tanking feel more like tanking. I feel I have more control over a group with my Warrior than with my DK. This can be completely wrong (mechanics wise), but it’s a feeling I have.

Also, the not having to monitor blood shield, deathstrike, blade barrier etc all the time is a pleasant change.

It will be exciting to see how tanking Outland dungeons will be. The classic Azeroth dungeons have been a cakewalk so far, well at least if you have people in your group that are not complete idiots. I wonder if the Outland dungeons have been towned down as well … to accomodate fast and easy experience.

Written by Beetle

April 23, 2011 at 9:45 am

Posted in World of Warcraft

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, I just wanted to share my similar experience with you. I used to play healers all the time and I raided a lot with them (Resto Druid and Holy Paladin), but when I started levelling my little Prot Warrior, I almost instantly fell in love with her. I levelled her to 80 and cleared every heroic 5-man in WotLK. Sorry to say, I haven’t done much with that little toon since Cata came out, there was so much to do. Anyway, Warrior tanking is awesome, and believe me, I have seen a lot of tanks from the back rows (healer PoV).

    A few good reasons for playing a Prot Warrior:

    1) First and foremost, Warrior have been tanking since God knows when. Therefore, Warriors have a good general reputation among the player base, and also the Warrior community is probably the most helpful and friendly community. Hardly ever will you hear anyone complaining ‘Not a noob warr tank again!’ (DKs, unfortunately tend to have a not so bright reputation due to the LK era when everyone and their grandma’s neighbour had one.)
    2) Warrior tanks look awesome and stylish. I have yet to see a Warrior tank that looks lame. Even Gnomes are fearsome in a way.
    3) Warriors are extremely mobile (Charge, Intercept, Intervene, Heroic Leap) and are generally put, the Swiss Army Knives of tanks. You’ll notice that Warrior tanks have a unique arsenal of tools, one for almost every situation.
    4) We have the coolest sound effects. You Thunderclap *BRA-WHAM!* and everyone knows that you’re doing your job.
    5) SHIELD SLAM, oh, my God, the king of awesomeness, SHIELD SLAM!

    If you want to read some really inspiring thoughts about Prot Warriors, Google ‘Matthew Rossi’, and read a few articles written by him. That man plays like 6 Warriors or so and he can write with such enthusiasm, you’ll just scream ‘I wanna play my Warrior!’.

    Namirya, Undead Prot Warrior, Chamber of Aspects-EU

    Namirya@Chamber of Aspects-EU

    May 31, 2011 at 11:37 am

  2. […] quite a bit with this Warrior, and the difference between my DeathKnight tank is very clear to me. I thought Warrior tanking would be more exciting in a good way, but right now, I’m not really sure […]


Leave a Reply

