Massively Casual Tanking

Tales of a casual Death Knight in World of Warcraft

Getting the best of you

leave a comment »

This entry has a point, I’m not sure how to get there, but bare with me.

I have not tanked dungeons regularly on my Death Knight. I just can’t stand it anymore. It has nothing to do with the DK class itself, but everything with the random people you encounter in the LFD tool.

And when I say random people, 9/10 times it is the DPS people. Clueless, ignorant, plain stupid … nothing more nothing less. Either to lazy to play their class proper, or just to stupid to know what to do.

How hard is it to interrupt? How hard is it to do 10k DPS? I’m so tired of constantly having to carry bads and stupids.

So I’ve been focussing on my DPS gear instead. Really hard. Well on my way to get my second tier 12 valor piece by the end of the week. And life is so much easier.

You know why? Because I am a goddamn solid DPS. I top charts, I interrupt, I don’t stand in bad stuff … And even now, I find I often have to carry people through a dungeon.

I can hear you think, roll with guildies. Well, I do so on occasion, and there’s not really much difference to be frank. Why this bitter feeling? Yesterday my brother and I did a PUG Zul’Aman run. It had a Druid tank, Paladin healer and a DPS Shammie. The Druid and Paladin were super geared and from the same guild. We flew through the instance like a hurricane.

When I usually PUG, or run with guildies, I have to hold back on my DPS most of the time because I’m constantly pulling aggro. Not with this Druid. I could go all out balls to the walls, pull occasional aggro and he just rolled with it like a pro.

This is what it must feel like to play in a super progression raiding guild. Nothing holding you back, full throttle, maximizing your role.

I wrote a while ago my guild is attempting to get a raid team together. Well, people aren’t even willing to gear up properly, so I’m guessing raiding is not even close for us.

Where will this leave me and my brother. No idea … We’re both ZA & ZG completed, only upgrades we can go for are the Molten Front vendor unlocks & craftables.

Written by Beetle

July 26, 2011 at 9:33 am

Posted in Ramblings

Leave a Reply

