Massively Casual Tanking

Tales of a casual Death Knight in World of Warcraft

My alt-o-mania is in danger because of the raid bug

leave a comment »

I like making alt characters. I also like trying out different classes.

Problem: This takes up a lot of my gaming time.

I like raiding again. It’s challenging, rewarding, fun. It brings out the best in you.

Problem: This is going to take up a lot of my gaming time. I think …

So what’s a guy to do?

My Warrior alt.
Level 85, protection specced. I love to tank on my Warrior. A lot more engaging and versatile than my Death Knight.
Maybe gear up his DPS spec. DPS’ing as a Warrior is good old fun.

My Rogue alt.
Level 84, assassination specced. Not going to gear/play him for a while. Currently being used because of Alchemy truegold transmutations.

My Shaman alt.
Level 44. Fun to meddle with, although healing is not my cup of tea anymore. Elemental is kinda blah, and enhancement is another melee DPS class. I’m got plenty of melee DPS atm.

My Paladin alt.
Level 33. Protection tankadin. I already have two capable tanks, and leveling this guy is no fun at the moment. I’d love to have a Paladin tank at 85, but like I said, I’m done with melee leveling atm.

My Druid alt.
Level 22. Feral kitty is just no fun what so ever. I’d love to have a druid tank at 85, but same old I’m done with melee leveling atm. Healing no go at all.

My Mage alt.
Level 11. Bleh … A fun change. Arcane + pew pew = dead mobs.
Could I bring myself to level this toon? I alway say no, never again, but who am I kidding? Playing a Mage is something I’ve never done, so it would be a nice change.

My Hunter alt.
Level 56. We have a shitload of hunters in our guild, and usually when we do guild dungeons, there’s always 2 or 3 ready to get going. And when I see how easy it is to play one, and how easy it is to do decent DPS without breaking a sweat … then yeah … this character has the most chance of getting leveled.

Problem is, and maybe this is only a low level issue, playing/leveling a Hunter is so damn boring. You pretty much auto-shoot you way through everything. Don’t get me wrong, it’s fast, easy and versatile I’m sure, but boooring. Or maybe it’s just me. He’d make an excellent farm character though.

Time to think it over.

This needs some thinking. I can’t keep playing all these alt characters. Don’t have the time for it. I really need to stick with two characters, a main and one active alt. The rest is support only.

I’m a melee kinda player. I prefer to be in the middle of the fight, wacking and mashing sh*t up. So that leave me my DeathKnight, Warrior and Rogue. Obviously the DK is my main character, so that is decided up front. Which leaves me to picking a second active alt.

I’d love to have a ranged character at 85. Just to see how it plays. Probably a lot easier, but ok … I guess there’s a reason why Rogues and feral Druids (kitties) are so rare these days. I can’t even remember the last time I had a Rogue in my group using the LFD tool. It’s always Hunters, Mages and Paladins, and a lot of DKs as well.

If I pick my Warrior, I’d have another melee class. Capable of tanking and doing DPS. That’s definitely a plus. A downside is the melee again. I’m not saying a Warrior is a DK, but they are close by definition.

If I pick my Rogue, I’d have yet another melee class. Capable of great DPS. It’s stealthy, rare by appearance these days. A different play style (leather armor!!). But again a melee class!.

If I pick my Hunter, I’d have to get him to level 85. That’s a bad thing. He’d be a great support character, and I’d finally have my ranged class. Problem is there are so freakin’ many of them out there already. Not to mention in our guild.

If I pick my Mage, I’d have to get him to level 85. That’s also a bad thing. I’d have my caster ranged class, and from what I’ve seen, a class capable of doing awesome stuff.

If I pick my Shaman, I’d have to get him to level 85. That’s a bad thing … again … and again … I’d have my caster ranged class, capable of DPS and healing. Only problem is I don’t like to heal these days. People are plain stupid, and you just can’t heal stupid.

If I pick my Druid or Paladin … not going to happen. Not leveling a melee class at the moment again.

Thinking time!

Written by Beetle

August 3, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Posted in Ramblings

Leave a Reply

